New Central Library / Birch Aquarium

Marcos and I had some school-related adventures recently, and also not-school related, but that’s normal.  We visited the New Central Library in Downtown, San Diego, and it is one of the most beautiful libraries I’ve ever visited. I guess I haven’t been to many libraries, just the small local ones, the New York Public Library, and some college libraries. But really, this place is a beaut. I’m sad I didn’t get a good picture of it from the outside, in all it’s “bird-cage” beauty, but if you’re in San Diego and you’re driving past downtown, you can’t miss it. It’s the odd domed-like structure near the beautiful Petco Park, near the harbor.

ImageImageImage

This place is 9 stories, there’s a small high school on a couple of the floors, there’s some great study rooms, an endless selection of books of all genres (duh), accessible computers, great wi-fi, plenty of outlets, underground parking, and it’s just quiet and convenient and roomy for any looking for a quiet place to study or read

ImageImageImage

We also went to the Birch Aquarium, I had an assignment I needed to finish.  It’s always great coming here, and the view from the outside is just gorgeous, right uphill from La Jolla Shores.  They also added a Climate Change section, which I love! (nerd alert)

ImageImageImage

And since we were in the area, we figured we’d walk around downtown La Jolla to some of our favorite spots.

Image

Here’s that frozen horchata that I talked about:

Image

And a vegan pumpkin cupcake:

Image

We also went to a show that night at the House of Blues. We saw Father John Misty, solo. Boy, that man can sing. I can’t even explain how beautiful his voice. 

Image

If I could just listen to live music of the bands I like for the rest of my life, I would not complain. I’d trade my car and everything I own to be able to do just that. Except I’d keep the privilege of being able to shower and change into a clean set of clothes.

Leave a Reply

