Out with the old, in with the new

I’m very fortunate to have friends that share the same interests as I do.  One of those interests is our similarities in taste for physical activity.  That being said, a couple of my gals and I decided to get up out of bed at 5:30 this morning to start our days.  We took a nice hike up Cowles Mountain (the highest, sadly/not sadly, point in San Diego).  It’s always nice in this area of town, because there are always friendly people who also get up early and greet you as you pass by.  I like to think people say “good morning” to save the both of us from those awkward few seconds of passing by each other.  Anyway, usually.. the hiking marks the end of our physical activity, but we thought it would be a good idea to go on a quick run afterwards.  Lake Murray Reservoir is just a few blocks from the mountain, and is such a beautiful run.  Sidenote: after taking a Water Quality class last semester and taking a field trip to the lake, all I could think about was the scientific and mechanical process of it all turning into drinking water – I know, geek.  Anyway, today, I officially retired my previous running shoes.  It was a good run. (pun intended)

Image

Now, I’m not one to splurge per say, ‘invest’ might be a better word.  And I’m really excited about my new “investment” of running shoes.  I’ve been wanting this pair for quite some time, and it finally felt like it was time and that I’d gotten the last juice out of my last pair.  Quite similar to when I replaced my riding boots, which got me through years and years of hot, dry, wet, you name it weather.

Image

The trail around Lake Murray doesn’t go completely full circle around the lake, it goes about  3/4+ around the lake, then you have to turn around, making it a total of between 5-6 miles.  Kinda cool… kinda not… (c: But this sign at the turn-around point makes it all worth it.

Image

Leave a Reply

